Malappuram district is situated in the Southern part of Malabar Region of Kerala. The district is situated between 10o 42’ and 11o 82’ North latitude and between 75o 48’ and 76o 33’ in the east longitude. The total extent of the district is 3550, which is 9.13 % of the total extent of the state. With regard to area, Malappuram district ranks 3rd in the state. The district is bounded on the north by Kozhikode and Wayanad districts, east by Nilgris district of Tamil Nadu, and south by Palakkad and Thrissur districts and west by the Arabian Sea. The administration set up of the district is comprised of Revenue Divisions, Taluks, Villages and Desoms. There are two Revenue Divisions namely Perinthalmanna and Tirur. Ernad, Perinthalmanna, Tirur, Ponnani, Nilambur, Thirurangadi and Kondotty are the seven Taluks comprising of 138 villages. 94 Grama Panchayats, 12 Municipalities, 15 Block Panchayats and one District Panchayat are the local self-government institutions.

As per 2011 census, the population of the district is 4112920. The male population and female population are 1960328 and 2152592 respectively; the sex ratio is 1098.The population growth rate for the last decade is 13.45 %. The Census 2011 records the number of households as 793999 with an average household size of 5.18. The average density of population is 1157 persons/square kilometre. The literacy rate and work force participation ratio (WFPR) are 93.57% and 25.83% respectively.

578 Thoughts on “Malappuram”

Comments are closed.