Pathanamthitta district, the thirteenth revenue district of the state of Kerala, was formed on 1st November, 1982 vide G.O. (M.S) No.1026/82/RD dated 29.10.1982, with headquarters at Pathanamthitta. The total geographical area of Pathanamthitta district is 2637 Sq.kms. Pathanamthitta district comprises of six taluks viz. Thiruvalla, Mallappally, Ranni, Kozhenchery, Konni and Adoor and 70 villages. There are two Revenue Divisions, viz., Adoor and Thiruvalla with headquarters at Adoor and Thiruvalla respectively. There are 8 Block Panchayats – Elanthoor, Parakkod, Koipram, Konni, Pandalam, Mallappally, Ranni and Pulikkeezh. The district has 57 LSGs comprising 4 Municipalities and 53 Grama Panchayats. The topography exhibits a slope from east to west. The three major categories of physiographic divisions seen are Lowland, Midland and Highland.

“The land of lush vegetation, fresh air and pilgrim tourism” is one of the southern districts in Kerala. The famous pilgrim center of India – Sabarimala is situated in the District and the largest Christian religious convention of Asia, is held at Maramon in the District. Aranmula Boat race (Palliyodam), Aranmula Kannadi is other unique features of the district.

As per 2011 census, the population of the district is 1197412. The male population and female population are 561716 and 635696 respectively; the sex ratio is 1132. During the period 2001-2011, the district recorded negative growth in population as -2.96 % (-4.7% for males and -1.38% for females). The Census 2011 records the number of households as 322684 with an average household size of 3.7. The average density of population is 451 persons/square kilometre. The literacy rate and work force participation ratio (WFPR) are 96.55% and 32.80% respectively.

498 Thoughts on “Pathanamthitta”

Comments are closed.